St John’s College Cambridge
Founded in 1511 posthumously by Lady Margaret Beaufort, mother of King Henry VII, this ancient hospital was transformed into a college for students in the Liberal Arts and Theology. Alumni include social reformer, William Wilberforce and poet William Wordsworth. While carrying out the work we discovered a 300 year old leather shoe that had been placed in a wall of the Master’s Common Room to ward off evil spirits and misfortune! It was later placed back, together with a small time capsule containing a newspaper and coins of our time.
Scope of Works
The project involved the installation of a new sustainable LED system within the combination room and adjoining areas. The whole team worked closely to ensure the fabrics and décor were fully protected and that this unique dining room remained fully operational for the college fellows. An amazing and unique project to be involved with and we thank St John’s College and Light Perceptions Ltd for entrusting us to deliver.